Book Reviews

Last Lullaby – DI Ward #2 (Carol Wyer) @bookouture @carolewyer @NetGalley

Author: Carol Wyer
Goodreads Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.37)
Published: December 7th 2018 | Bookouture
Pages: 338

Goodreads Synopsis:

When the body of young mother Charlotte Brannon is discovered by her husband in their immaculate, silver bedroom, Detective Natalie Ward is first on the scene. The killer has left a chilling calling card: the word ‘Why?’ written on the wall in blood. Determined to find justice, Natalie quickly discovers the husband is hiding a troubled past, and she’s sure the teenage babysitter’s alibi doesn’t quite add up. But before Natalie can dig deeper, another mother is murdered, her young son left distraught, staring at a fresh ‘Who?’ scrawled beside her. Natalie knows it’s only a matter of time before the killer strikes again, but all the key suspects have alibis. It’s her toughest case yet, and with her marriage hanging by a thread, the cracks are beginning to show. Just when Natalie finds an unsettling clue she thinks could solve the case, another young woman and her baby disappear, and a member of Natalie’s team is put in terrible danger.

My Review (5 Stars)

Before I get started on my review, I always like to let you know if I complete books as a buddy read. This novel, along with every other Carol Wyer suspense book I pick up, I devour as a buddy read with Megan over at Coffee by the Novel. This is the second book to Wyer’s DI Natalie Ward series.

Looking back to my review from Wyer’s first DI Natalie Ward novel, I have come to like Natalie a lot more. In this second novel she has handled herself in more of a professional way and more motherly than she did in the first novel and I was really loving that. She had more time spent with her kids (even though it’s not enough time being a cop) and more time for her husband.

This novel was written so well. When I look at how suspects come across in a book, I feel like those characters are a huge part of the story. I love when I get thrown for a loop and second guess myself when I choose a suspect of my own. In this novel that happened. Every suspect DI Ward interview came up with a solid alibi. BUT one of them committed these murders. I ended up figuring out the right suspect but it wasn’t until a chapter or two before she released that information.

Once again, Wyer’s novel is a very fast paced read that I did not want to end. It’s a good thing I just requested book three (The Dare) on NetGalley so Megan and I can start reading when we are approved! The ending was shocking for Natalie’s home life but it wasn’t something I didn’t expect to happen. I’m just hoping that she will be able to work through it for her children and the sake of her sanity.

Thank you to Carol Wyer, Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced copy so I could provide an honest review.


Advertisements
Book Reviews

It Was You by Jade Lee Wright @Boho_Bookworm_J

Author: Jade Lee Wright
Goodreads Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.66)
Pages: 232
Published: Independently | October 25th, 2018

Goodreads Synopsis:

“I don’t understand. Everything I did, I did for her…” When Regan Pen discovers that her long-term boyfriend has been cheating on her with over eight women, she packs her bags and leaves the sunny island in Spain that she had called home for a year. She returns to South Africa where she is given the chance to start over in life. Reassemble herself. Now is her time to be selfish. Find a new career, get a home of her own. Become whoever she wants to be.. but when her best friend, Peyton, is brutally murdered, Regan is forced to put her life on hold to take responsibility for her friends thirteen year old daughter, Harley. As the police battle to solve the murder of Peyton and her unborn child, Regan becomes convinced that her Godchild is not the sweet, innocent little girl everyone seems to think she is. Could Harley have been so consumed by her jealousy and fear of not being the epicenter of her mothers universe that it lead to murder? If so, is Regan safe in her own home?

My Rating (4 Stars):

I have been following my friend Jade and her bookstagram along with her and Chiara’s podcast for a few months now. I just have to say, if you’re into reading book blogs and love talking books then I suggest you go follow their podcast Books & Booze. Since I have been following Jade, she shared her story and process on writing her first book. Being a fan of their podcast and enjoying her posts so much I wanted to help her succeed in every way possible and besides who doesn’t love a good suspense novel!? I bought her book and it was nothing short of thrilling.

The first couple chapters for me started off a little rocky but I trusted my instinct and knew that this was going to be a good novel and that is exactly what it turned out to be. The writing style for this novel, to me, was perfect in every way. I enjoyed the roller coaster ride of not knowing who the person was that committed the murder. I had my suspicion from the start and I ended up being correct. Once I got through the first two to four chapters, I was hooked and could not put it down. I read this book in a day and half. I loved how fast paced the book was, there was never a part throughout the book where it was too boring or uneventful. You were always left saying “wtf is happening?”

I rated this novel a 4 star for only one reason and this will definitely not be the same for everyone. Everyone goes through different experiences and different traumas or relationships. I had a very hard time relating to the characters. The middle of the book was a little tough for me in this area because I became slightly annoyed for the way Regan treated people. Once again, everyone has their own experiences and I knew nothing about these.

I would and will always highly recommend this novel. What a fantastic first novel to be written and I cannot wait to read another from this beautiful author! Please, if you have not read this book go buy it now!

______________________________________________________________________________

Book Reviews

The Woman in the Window (A.J. Finn)

Author: A.J. Finn
Goodreads Rating: ★★★★☆ (3.97)
Pages: 427
Published: January 2nd, 2018 | William Morrow

Goodreads Synopsis:

Anna Fox lives along – a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times… and spying on her neighbors. Then the Russell’s move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, and their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble – and its shocking secrets are laid bare. What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control?

My Review (5 Stars!)

I read The Woman in the Window as a buddy read with my book bestie Megan over at Coffee By The Novel. I have to take a minute to say how much I enjoy buddy reads. I love being able to share my thoughts with someone while I’m reading along.

This book took us awhile to get through. Not because it was a bad book … it was a phenomenal book. Life just got in the way for us. As all of you know… life can become pretty crazy at times with work, school, families, and outside world extremes. But we finished and this was a fantastic read. I’m sad it took me so long!

I was a little nervous starting this book only because I did not want this to turn out like The Girl on the Train. This is far from what the book is like. It starts off with a woman who has agoraphobia. An extreme or irrational fear of crowded spaces or enclosed public places. In her case, she was terrified to be in the outside world. When she did make it outside of her house, she would have panic attacks that would confine her back into her home.

This novel was definitely gut wrenching. There was a chapter I had to skim through due to not being physically able to read it. It was extremely heartbreaking the loss that Anna endures.

This book also brought a lot of WTF moments. I was completely blindsided by parts of the book that I did not see coming. This book is full of suspense, it has heart pounding moments and it’s a ride that I won’t forget. One of the best books I’ve read in a long time.


IMG_5131

Book Reviews

Girls Night Out (Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke) @LizandLisa

Author: Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke
Goodreads Rating: 
★★★★☆ (3.64)
Pages:
323
Published:
July 24th, 2018 | Lake Union Publishing

Goodreads Synopsis:

For estranged friends Ashley, Natalie and Lauren, it’s time to heal the old wounds between them. Where better to repair those severed ties than on a girls’ getaway to the beautiful paradise of Tulum, Mexico? But even after they’re reunited, no one is being completely honest about the past or the secrets they’re hiding. When Ashley disappears on their girls’ night out, Natalie and Lauren have to try to piece together their hazy memories to figure out what could have happened to her, while also reconciling their feelings of guilt over their last moments together. Was Ashley with the man she’d met only days before? Did she pack up and leave? Was she kidnapped? Or worse – could Natalie or Lauren have snapped under the weight of her own lies? As the clock ticks, hour by hour, Natalie and Lauren’s search rushes headlong into growing suspicion and dread. Maybe their secrets run deeper and more dangerous than one of them is willing – or too afraid – to admit.

My Review (5 Stars!)

Before picking up this book to read, I received it back in May. There were many times I wanted to pick this up but other books and life got in the way of doing that. I am extremely sad that I did not choose to read this book the second it arrived in the mail!

This book was refreshing. It wasn’t too murderous, it wasn’t too creepy and it wasn’t a slow read. This book kept me on my toes guessing what could have happened to Ashley and guessing on where she might be. Lisa and Liz not only brought suspense to this novel but they also brought the drama. The characters had their own unique personalities and quirks that made them all a little relatable.

I loved everything about this book. A fast paced read that made putting it down to go to work very hard. I was really hoping for a different ending. Be prepared readers, the last chapter will tug at your heartstrings.

Thank you again to Lisa and Liz for my free signed copy for an honest review. I am looking forward to your next novel!


IMG_4751

Book Reviews

The Birthday (DI Natalie Ward #1) @carolewyer @Bookouture @netgalley

Author: Carol Wyer
Goodreads Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.31)
Pages:
302
Published:
September 27th 2018 |Bookouture

Goodreads Synopsis:

When five-year-old Ava Sawyer goes missing from a birthday party at a local garden centre, the police are bewildered by the lack of leads. That is until two years later, when Ava’s body is found and another little girl, Audrey Briggs, goes missing. Audrey also attended that party… Leading the investigation is Detective Natalie Ward. A mother of two teenagers, this case chills her to the bone, and is a disturbing reminder of the last job she worked on. One that ended very badly. Natalie soon discovers that Ava’s mother has some worrying gaps in her alibi and as she digs deeper, she’s sure Ava’s father is not telling the full story. And what did the owner of the garden centre Elsa see that day? Something that she’s not telling Natalie… Just as Natalie is facing up to the grim possibility that Ava and Audrey were killed by someone close to home, another little girl from the party doesn’t come home from her ballet lesson. Can Natalie find a way to stop this killer before more innocent lives are taken?

My Thoughts (4 Stars!)

Before I get started, I read this novel as a buddy with my bestie Megan over at Coffee By the Novel and what better way to start a new series off than with your bestie!?

As everyone knows Carol Wyer is hands down one of my favorite authors to date. The Birthday is a new book she has released that does not coincide with the DI Robyn series. I will be totally honest, I was a little skeptical just because I LOVE Robyn so much. I can relate so well with her and love her drive as a detective. But sadly, I did not feel this way towards Natalie Ward.

Natalie was very hard to get along with for me. I struggled with trying to sympathize and relate with her. When it came to her marriage, she was pretty absent and committed a horrible crime. She was also very absent with her children and that is something that bothers me not only in a book but also in real life. I don’t know if it’s just my morals coming out or the teacher in me.

Now.. with that being said, this new novel had everything I love to read in a thriller. It was fast paced, suspenseful, it was stressful, it was heartbreaking but most of all it was disturbing. And by disturbing, I’m referring to the person who was the suspect. Like, wow! I did not see that coming and was very sad when it came true.

I am very excited that this is going to be a series and read the next book. I would really love to get to know Natalie more and I feel that I can come to like her better than I do at the moment. I think she has a very good side to her and I hope the books can show me that. If you enjoyed Wyer’s other DI series, I highly suggest you pick up this novel too. Wyer is just getting started!

Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Carol Wyer for an advanced copy for an honest review.


IMG_4750

Book Reviews

Bring Me Back (B.A. Paris) @BAParisAuthor

Author: B.A. Paris
Goodreads Rating: 
★★★★☆(3.60)
Pages:
223
Published:
St Martin’s Press | June 19th, 2018

Goodreads Synopsis:

Finn and Layla are young, in love, and on vacation. They’re driving along the highway when Finn decides to stop at a service station to use the restroom. He hops out of the car, locks the doors behind him, and goes inside. When he returns Layla is gone – never to be seen again. That is the story Finn told to the police. But it is not the whole story. Ten years later Finn is engaged to Layla’s sister, Ellen. Their shared grief over what happened to Layla drew them close and now they intend to remain together. Still, there’s something about Ellen that Finn has never fully understood.

His heart wants to believe that she is the one for him… even though a sixth sense tells him not to trust her. Then, not long before he and Ellen are to be married, Finn gets a phone call. Someone from his past has seen Layla – hiding in plain sight.

My Thoughts (4 Stars)

This book was a fantastic book to get me back on track for reading. It was a very quick read that engrossed me from the beginning. My love for B.A. Paris is strong. While I know many fellow book readers were not too big of a fan to this novel, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The novel goes between two different points of views. Finn’s and Layla’s.

The books starts out by giving us the background of Finn and Layla’s relationship and how it all began. The chapters juggle Finn’s point of view on Before and Now. After Layla goes missing and fast-forwarding 12 years Finn is not only dating her sister, Ellen, but is engaged to be married. When the announcement is made weird things start happening. Long lost items start showing up around Finn and Ellen’s home. E-mails from a stranger who seem to know too much come everyday and there are too many warning signs that Finn cannot see due to being emotionally attached to Ellen.

Towards the middle of the novel is where Layla’s point of view comes into character. She tells her side of the story and how she will fight to the death with her sister to win Finn back. There is a side to Ellen that Layla does not like. When they were younger Ellen would have done anything to protect Layla from the outrageous father but now Ellen is  far more controlling. She doesn’t let Layla speak for herself like she did when they were younger.

As the novel comes to a close there is a side to Ellen that I seen coming. I just didn’t know how it would end. For both her and Layla.

This book was full of twists and full of surprises that I was intrigued to read about. I would suggest this read if you enjoy quick easy reads. These characters were easy to like and Paris’ writing was amazing as usual. Unfortunately though, I enjoyed her other two novels Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown much more!


IMG_4345

Book Reviews

The Chosen Ones (Carol Wyer) @NetGalley @Bookouture @carolewyer

Author: Carol Wyer
Goodreads Rating: ★★★★ (4.44)
Pages: 374
Published: May 24, 2018 | Bookouture

Goodreads Synopsis:

They had not been forgiven. And they would never be forgotten… When a doting young father is murdered and his body discovered in a cornfield for his family to see, it’s a harrowing new case for Detective Robyn Carter. But just as Robyn starts to investigate, a popular local doctor and young mother, is found dead outside her surgery. As Robyn tries to find the link between the victims, she uncovers a dark web of secrets. Were these much-loved members of the community as innocent as they seemed?

The killer has a message for Robyn and the carefully chosen victims. Can Robyn get to the truth before she becomes the next target?

My Thoughts (5 STARS!)

Just when I think Wyer can’t top herself, she proves me wrong again! This novel is drop dead exciting and that ending was SHOCKING!

I think I say this every time I write a blog for Carol, but if you have yet to pick up the DI Robyn Carter series, I suggest you do it today! Her writing is full of suspense, crime, passion and cliff hangers. It’s everything I want and need in a story. I read this novel as a buddy read with my bestie Megan over at Coffee By the Novel. This read took us a little while to get through due to our own personal issues NOT due to the book itself.

I was waiting for this novel to give me ALL the answers from thee extremely huge cliff hanger I was left with in The Silent Children and I am still not any closer to knowing the big “event” than I did in the last book. I need to know what happened to Davies!!!

The Chosen Ones was perfectly written to keep readers on their toes by second guessing characters, feeling heartbroken for characters and for almost making them want to cry (or maybe that was just me!). Wyer is the master when it comes to creating characters. Inside the pages of this novel, she creates her villain so readers can identify their pain. I related to this villain and felt extremely sorry for this person until the end that is. I love that she made this character a real human being rather than some psycho killer who had past issues.

From the beginning, when I picked up Little Lost Girl, Wyer had sunk her claws into me and I’m so glad that this series is not finished yet because I’m not ready for her or DI Carter to let me go just yet.!

Don’t forget to look for her new novel coming soon: The Birthday releasing September 27, 2018.


IMG_4220