Book Reviews

The Snowman (Jo Nesbø)

Author: Jo Nesbø
Goodreads Rating:
★★★★☆ (4.04)
Pages:
500
Published:
April 17, 2012

Goodreads Synopsis:

One night, after the first snowfall of the year, a boy named Jonas wakes up and discovers that his mother has disappeared. Only one trace of her remains: a pink scarf, his Christmas gift to her, now worn by the snowman that inexplicably appeared in their yard earlier that day. Inspector Harry Hole suspects a link between the missing woman and a suspicious letter he’s received. The case deepens when a pattern emerges: over the past decade, eleven women have vanished – all on the day of the first snow. But this is a killer who makes his own rules… and he’ll break his pattern just to keep the game interesting, as he draws Harry ever closer into his twisted web.

My Review (4 Stars)

Round of applause to Jo Nesbø for now opening up the creepiness to innocent snowmen! I read The Snowman as a buddy read with my book bestie Megan over at Coffee by the Novel! I was first suggested to read this book by Abby from Crime by the Book. I simply approached her after realizing how many books the Harry Hole series had and asked if you had to read all the books in order or if they could be read as stand alones. Surprisingly enough she told me to start here. From there I suggested the book to Megan as she was out shopping in the bookstore and the rest is history! Boy do I love this book community!

Anyway, back to The Snowman. This book did not disappoint. There were some parts that were harder for me to get into. My hardest part was coming to terms with the pronunciation of some of the Scandinavian names but I quickly made nicknames for them. One thing Megan and I both had to do was write down notes for each character for we would get slightly confused between characters if we did not.

I will not be providing spoilers, so no need to worry on that front. I just have to say though that this being the first Nesbø book I have read, he really knows how to keep the writing creepy on all accounts. I am one obviously that loves the crime/thriller/mystery genre and the occasional scary movies “at night” but I found myself in a couple spots where I put the book down because it startled me. It honestly gave me the heebie geebies.

I had a lot of fun with this book as well. Investigations always intrigue me and if you could take tours and sit in on an investigation, I would definitely be the first to sign up. With that being said, I really enjoyed Hole’s character. He’s never very funny or charming but he is definitely a badass. Nesbø created a reading atmosphere (for me) of cat and mouse. The minute I thought The Snowman was a certain character he flipped the script and I was left guessing all over again.

This novel kept me on the edge of my seat, it was like I said before very creepy and it had me reading aloud to people I live with to share it’s intensity! Trying to find a motive behind the killings and the killer was very suspenseful. Nesbø provided the right amount of twists and turns to keep you guessing. This winter when I see a snowman, I will definitely be on guard.

Megan’s (Coffee by the Novel) Thoughts:

“Jo Nesbø sure knows how to build suspense and mislead the reader (several times I might add). I actually went through a few suspects and scenarios in my head before I started to put the pieces together that Nesbø so easily laid out for me. Oddly enough, what creeped me out the most about this book was the thought of a snowman in a dark forest or staring at me through the window, not the serial killer on the prowl. Who would have thought that something as innocent as a snowman could be so terrifying? Overall, I really enjoyed my first Jo Nesbø and would definitely read another book in the Harry Hole series!” Rated: 4 stars.

Head on over to her to her blog later today to see her review of Jo Nesbø’s The Snowman!


IMG_1528IMG_1530IMG_1614IMG_1615

4 thoughts on “The Snowman (Jo Nesbø)

Leave a Reply

